Hearing without Listening: Part Two

18 Aug

by Max Scott, Patient

  • Part four of the blog series “The desperate fight to be heard, and supported, when living with the invisible struggles of Multimorbidity”
  • Introduction to blog series here

Ears_Listen_Max Scott blog

In the days and weeks following my Pituitary surgery, I began to read up on other patients’ experiences, who’d had similar surgery.  I remember reading one comment from a patient, who said “once you’ve had the surgery and are on your replacement therapy medications, the doctors are never far away from you”.  When I read that, my heart sank a little. I wasn’t sure if I wanted that.  I wanted to lead as normal a life as possible, and not have a medical team holding my hand every step of the way. But I needn’t have worried as that was not what I experienced!

Despite having multiple health conditions (my Medic Alert card makes depressing reading), some of which have completely changed the way I’m able to live my life, I usually have to make the first move in getting checked out. Some of the comments that I’ve had to endure are quite unbelievable!  Here are just a few. My own GP, upon me asking to have a particular check-up: “You don’t want to be making a career out of having tests”. To say I was gobsmacked was an understatement, as well as very upset and insulted. He is, by nature a gentle man, and I can only think that such an out of character outburst was “inspired” by costing concerns, but the effect it had was devastating. It is a very dangerous attitude to take with a patient. I wrote to the surgery to make my feelings known. The most I received in return was a response stating that “he is sorry if he upset you”. This is very different from saying “I’m sorry for getting it wrong”. The end result is that I avoided going to my GP for a long while after, even when I felt I needed to, and even now, I have lost confidence in asking him for any specific examinations. That I had to experience such rudeness in the first place was appalling. A perfect example of “Hearing without listening”.

I’ll leave you with a taster for my next blog; another comment said to me during an appointment, but not with my GP this time. “Are you worried about feeling well”?             

One Response to “Hearing without Listening: Part Two”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The desperate fight to be heard, and supported, when living with the invisible struggles of Multimorbidity | GM PSTRC - August 18, 2015

    […] click here to read part four of Max’s story […]

Leave a Reply

