“Why do they do this to me?” – The inner cry of a child whose two crimes were to be gentle and poorly

1 Apr

by Max Scott

  • Part 2 of blog series “The desperate fight to be heard, and supported, when living with the invisible struggles of Multimorbidity”
  • Introduction to blog series available here
It would not be what he hoped it would be

It would not be what he hoped it would be

Mums eyes misted over as she watched the pale, frail looking boy set off to the neighbours a few doors away for his lift to school. Thin, white, bony legs exposed to the winter cold from below his short uniform trousers, he was not really strong enough to return to school, and my mother was fully aware of this. But what could she do? Her son had missed so much education. That boy, of course, was me.

Once at school, I spent my time in the classroom struggling to catch up with the work missed in my absence, and my time in the playground struggling to deal with the pain and misery of being punched and kicked by the other kids who found me an easy target, with my weak limbs and gentle disposition.

As a severely asthmatic child from around the age of one, I never knew what it was like to be well, or to have any continuity with schooling or building friendships. I was unable to develop the social or survival skills that could have made this early period of my life that little bit easier.

So this, in a way, could have been useful preparation for having to deal with the challenges that face me now. Except that now, those challenges are rather different. Back then, I just wanted to be left alone by those who made my life more difficult. Now, I just want to be listened to by those who could make my life that bit easier. I was unable to achieve the former. Now, as an adult, armed with more experience and the ability to string a few words together, I strive to achieve the latter.

My future posts will try to give an insight into the gradual and shocking realisation that my health issues were multiplying, to the extent that they were taking over my life, that they were mostly invisible to the outside world, and that, remarkably, on top of my having to come to terms with this…my doctors seemed to be responding with scepticism.

One Response to ““Why do they do this to me?” – The inner cry of a child whose two crimes were to be gentle and poorly”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The desperate fight to be heard, and supported, when living with the invisible struggles of Multimorbidity | GM PSTRC - April 1, 2015

    […] click here to read part two of Max’s story […]

Leave a Reply

