Into the unknown, alone

16 Feb

by Max Scott

  • Part 1 of the blog series “The desperate fight to be heard, and supported, when living with the invisible struggles of Multimorbidity”
  • Introduction to blog series available here

Max_Scott_Enjoying_the_light_before_the_shade_arrives

I was full of apprehension as I walked into the GP surgery waiting room – a message on my answer phone the previous day had told me to contact my doctor asap. “I think you’ll feel better when you get in there”; the receptionist said. My heart suddenly felt a little less heavy. Did she know something that I didn’t? I felt bewildered, but now at least I had a bit of hope.

The buzzer on the wall announced that it was time for me to face the facts. I entered the Dr’s room. “I believe you have the results from my brain scan”, I said. “Have I?”, he remarked. My heart began to sink again. “Let me have a look….hmmm…I don’t know how to access these results…I’ll have to ask for help”. He then rang for the receptionist to show him how to open the file. As I realised he had obviously not seen the results after all, all optimism in me evaporated. “Do I have cancer” I said, staring at the floor. “No, you do not have cancer. You have a large adenoma on your Pituitary Gland”. “What is that when it’s at home?” I remarked, hiding my fear with a touch of flippancy. “It’s a lump…a tumour. You poor man. Just when you should be living your life to the full. I thought the headaches you were getting were the result of over indulgence, and I put you in for the scan to prove it to you”.

I had been rather taken aback when the doctor had suddenly announced, at my previous appointment, that he was putting me in for a brain scan, but my main thought at that time was that at least he was being thorough, and the fact that I was having a scan made it no more or less likely that there was a problem. But, from that day onwards, my life was to change forever…

2 Responses to “Into the unknown, alone”

  1. simonstones February 16, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

    Reblogged this on Why Infinity.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The desperate fight to be heard, and supported, when living with the invisible struggles of Multimorbidity | GM PSTRC - April 1, 2015

    […] click here to read part one of Max’s story […]

Leave a Reply

